republican values inform politics?

In a liberal democracy, voting is essential and direct participation is not (Schumpeter). In an extended republic, direct participation is essential to the health of democracy because the people participate in “self-government” to extend the democratic wishes to their representatives.

I am proud that my representative consistently provides an opportunity for our extended republic to function properly, even if cancelled once in a while!

Dear neighbor,

Due to unforeseen circumstances, I will not be holding my regularly scheduled coffee hour this Friday.

Please also note that I will not be holding my regularly scheduled coffee hour on the fourth Friday of the month due to holidays.

I will resume my regularly scheduled coffee hours in 2016: 

Second Friday of each month at 8:30 a.m.
Bean and Leaf Café
106 S. Main St. in Royal Oak

Fourth Friday of each month at 8:30 a.m.
Sero’s Restaurant
375 W. 12 Mile Road in Madison Heights

If you have any thoughts, questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at (517) 373-3818 or jimtownsend@house.mi.gov.

Sincerely,   

State Representative Jim Townsend

26th House District

Leave a Reply

