On a “republican” Limb: Tree Estimated at 3,000 Years Old

Interlude: Perspectives matter. Most American political scientists look at the representative government and pay special attention to the liberal society. In short, in representative democracy, (1) progressives fortify capitalism for the least advantaged and (2) conservatives fortify capitalism by limiting governmental interference into capital markets, which includes taxation.

I have climbed up the old tree called “republicanism,” which is far and away from the land of liberalism. I’ve sat on some big branches and watched liberals, and authoritarians, in the American society from a republican perspective.

When I finally came down from the long-standing republican tree, I went to the building that reads (carved) above the front door: “Let no one destitute of political science enter my doors.” I entered and went to the library, put the fire on, and with a big bowl of red grapes next to me, I wrote a dissertation about republicanism in America and the Patriot Act. I’m in the final stages.

Once the dissertation’s complete, I’ll leave my building and take the dissertation to the land of liberalism. How will a book complimenting multiple traditions in society be taken by followers of the liberal tradition?

Analysis: My interlude, or break from posting official political science stuff, should make the well-aged philosophers smile right now. The interlude is (1) about Plato’s “Cave Image” from The Republic; however, the grassy knoll is being described, and not the inside of the cave (i.e., the shadows of things people believe).

Going into the Political Science building is from the idea, literally some 2500 years ago, which came from Pythagoras / Plato: “Let no one destitute of geometry enter my doors.”

In political thought, we often talk about Plato’s Cave, where some enlightened philosopher (I.e., a PhD) comes down into the darkness (I.e., society) and tells people the truth about the outside world. But since the people are like prisoners chained to their seats (I.e. followers of this or that demagogue through time); the people blast the philosopher with their own propaganda.

And if the philosopher is very persuasive, and does “unchain” the prisoners; unfortunately, the people are very well-known to rise up to kill the philosopher, and to not follow him or her out of the cave to see for themselves!

The people of Athens, in the end, prove Socrates’ point. He was poisoned by the people after he gave an apology to the people. The same pattern (Cave Image) can be seen with Spinoza, or even Martin Luther King.

******************************

As I am in the process of completing my dissertation, posts will be few and far between. Again, please see Political Pipeline like a “WikiSum” page, and not as a reflection of current events. Use the “Search” feature, or see the open-access books under the “Creative Projects” tab.

I wonder: Do “republicans” really have agency and power to win political battles against “liberalism” in the early 21st century? Outside the cave, if there is a liberal community, an authoritarian community, and a republican community; to what degree are they competing for power and agency via the people? How many more people have climbed the tree of republicanism and watched the world go by?

 

Leave a Reply

