“Conference Expenses” allocated to New Hires

The purpose of this post is to determine whether or not research institutions show variation in “conference expenses” allocated to faculty and students across research institutions / organizations. As a PhD Candidate, I would be swayed heavily if offered identical salary and benefits and tenure considering purchasing power in each location, but that one contract provided an additional $6,000 yearly conference / cross-institutional events expense account and zilch from the other.

For example, I will be attending the PS Education conference in February (Long Beach). Today, I see a wonderful opportunity to apply to a Political Theory conference in London; because, the conference theme is central to my dissertation–Is there a difference between republicanism and liberalism? So which institutions, exactly, provide for yearly educational expenses, and by how much? What about non-profits, think-tanks, or SuperPacs (i.e. different long-term staff positions for researchers)?  I mean, these institutions / organizations depend on both research and collaboration, thus they provide this “conference expense” structure in order to become more dominant in producing science.

Considering the job market in one to three years, do you predict an increase “conference expenses” to be written into new hire contracts? If so, how much? And where, exactly, do we find this?

Please comment. Thanks!

Please comment. Thanks!

8 thoughts on ““Conference Expenses” allocated to New Hires

  1. Ask recent hires in your department? That might be a good place to start out. Also, understand the job market you are going into. It is a tough job market and you might not be able to find a job at a university. You may have to settle on a comm. college that does not care if you go to conferences and even if they did, they do not have the money to help out.

    Knowing what I know about you, I ran two logit models to predict the probability you would end up in two positions. First, whether you would end up being a faculty member at a university. The probability there is .24. Second, whether you would end up with a university job. The probability there is .54.

    The variables included are as following: Does the individual have peer reviewed publications? The ranking of the phd program the individual is graduating from (ranked on five point scale) Is the individual a female? Is the individual’s mentor a male? Has the individual held a post-doctoral fellowship?

    If you can give me information on the number of publications and citations Professor Abbott has received in the last three years I can predict the probability with a little more accuracy.

  2. Even better idea, talk to recent graduates from your institution. That is probably more comparable. Where are the students in your field from your institution getting jobs? What kind of conference/travel allotments are they getting?

  3. Why is it all about me? How about data on institutions that do provide conference expenses?

    I predict that Obama will win with 347 to 348 electoral votes. I brought up the electoral map in class yesterday and let the class vote through majority how the election would go… at last, without ohio being checked, Obama had 271.

    So I made a bet with my class (which I did in 2008 too)–that Obama would get more than 330 electoral votes (I use votomatic’s numbers). I said to the class, so if you think Obama is going to get less than 330 electoral votes, sign this paper, and if you are right, then I will give you 1 point extra credit on Test 3….but if I am right, I will take 1 point away from you on Test 3…. (300 point class). So from my 60 students, 3 signed the paper.

  4. Did not mean to make it about you, but in the institutions you will be applying to are dependent upon you. So it is important to set appropriate expectations on these sort of things. That is all. Not everyone can get R1 jobs where these benefits are most likely to exist(they represent less than 10% of the market field!) so that is all. I do not want you to become jaded during the job search. Or assume you will be able to get these benefits or anything. Sorry I mentioned it!

  5. I don’t want to become jaded in my job search either…and I appreciate your projections. To give myself a better chance (and others at Wayne), I organized an “American Publishing Project.” A group of (PhD candidates) are working on papers together–to publish. Abbott is formally distinguised and coming out with yet another book soon…

    I was wrong about North Carolina. I thought Obama would keep it. On the other hand, it looks like 3 students will lose a point. Lessons about the electoral college that they will remember…

Leave a Reply

